
    GENERAL
Did North Carolina expand access to Medicaid?

Yes. More North Carolinians can now get health care coverage 
through Medicaid. Starting Dec. 1, 2023, NC Medicaid covers 
people ages 19 through 64 years with higher incomes. Many 
North Carolinians who did not qualify for health coverage 
through NC Medicaid prior to Dec. 1, 2023 may now qualify. 

What health services will North Carolina cover?

Health coverage through Medicaid is comprehensive. 
Because these services are covered by NC Medicaid, they are 
provided at no cost or low cost to you. Services include, but 
are not limited to:

•	 Primary care so you can go to a doctor for a check-up 
or when you are not feeling well

•	 Hospital services when you need to stay overnight 
(inpatient) or when you can go home the same day 
(outpatient)

•	 Maternity and postpartum care if you are pregnant and 
after giving birth

•	 Vision and hearing services

•	 Prescription drug benefits

•	 Behavioral health

•	 Preventive and wellness services

•	 Dental and oral health services

•	 Medical-related devices and other therapies

Who will be able to get health coverage through NC 
Medicaid?

Most people can get health care coverage through NC 
Medicaid if they meet the criteria below. If you were eligible 
before, you still are. Eligibility criteria: 

•	 You live in North Carolina  

•	 Age 19 through 64 

•	 You are a citizen (some non-U.S. citizens can get health 
coverage through NC Medicaid)

•	 If your household income fits within the chart below: 

Household Size Annual Income

Single Adults $20,120 or less

Family of 2 $27,214 or less

Family of 3 $34,307 or less

Family of 4 $41,400 or less

Family of 5 $48,493 or less

Family of 6 $55,586 or less

 

How can I apply for Medicaid?

You can apply online through ePASS – a secure, self-service 
website at ePASS.nc.gov. When you apply online, you can 
avoid having to go in person to your local Department of 
Social Services (DSS) office. If your application is complete,  
it may be processed faster. 

If you cannot apply online, you can apply in person at  
your local DSS office, by calling your local DSS office  
or by mailing in a paper application available at   
medicaid.nc.gov/print-application. To find your local DSS 
office, go to ncdhhs.gov/localDSS.

Can you pre-qualify for Medicaid under the expanded 
eligibility?

You cannot “pre-qualify” for Medicaid. You will be assessed 
for eligibility and evaluated for all Medicaid programs, using 
the eligibility rules. Be on alert for scams. It is not possible to 
“pre-qualify” for Medicaid. 

Do parents have to meet additional requirements to get NC 
Medicaid?

Parents who do not meet eligibility requirements for 
coverage as a Parent/Caretaker can still qualify under the 
expanded rules if they are aged 19 through 64 and meet 
other eligibility requirements. All children in the home under 
21 years of age must have health insurance that meets the 
Affordable Care Act requirements. That health insurance 
could be Medicaid or private health coverage.

How long will it take to find out if I am eligible for Medicaid 
once I apply?

It may take up to 45 days after you apply. Incomplete 
applications may take longer. If your application is 
incomplete or we need more information, you will hear from 
your local DSS office requesting additional information. You 
may be contacted by mail, phone, email and/or text message, 
so it is important to make sure your contact information is up 
to date and complete so your caseworker can reach you. 

You will receive a letter in the mail that will tell you if you are 
approved or denied. Authorized Representatives will receive 
the same communication.

When does my Medicaid health coverage begin?

The date coverage begins depends on when you apply for 
Medicaid. Here are examples of situations people may have:

•	 You apply for Medicaid in December. Your application 
is not processed until January (or later). But you need 
care in December. If you are eligible, your Medicaid 
coverage will be retroactive to December 1. That means 
if you get care in December, your provider can bill for 
services that Medicaid covers. You should not have to 
pay out of pocket. You may have to pay a copay.
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•	 You apply for Medicaid in January 2024 (or later) 
but have medical bills you need to pay from services 
you received in December 2023. When you apply for 
Medicaid, make sure you answer the questions that ask 
about medical bills from prior months. You can request 
that your Medicaid coverage be retroactive for up to 
three months before the month you applied. So, if you 
apply in March and you are eligible, Medicaid can pay 
bills for covered services from December, January and 
February. Remember, coverage under expansion can 
only go back to December 2023.

Are non-U.S. citizens eligible for health care coverage 
through NC Medicaid? 

Some non-U.S. citizens can get health coverage through 
Medicaid. To be eligible you must be:

•	 A person living in North Carolina 

•	 A qualified non-citizen for at least five years

	» This means a person must wait five years after 
receiving “qualified” immigration status before 
they can get Medicaid.

	» There are exceptions. For example, refugees, 
asylees or lawful permanent residents who used 
to be refugees or asylees do not have to wait five 
years.

Individuals without documents are not eligible for Medicaid 
unless they have an emergency condition as defined under 
federal law – such as someone in a car accident who is taken 
to the emergency room.

What information do I need to apply?

It takes time to complete the application. Here is some of 
the information you will be asked to provide for each person 
applying: 

•	 Full legal name 

•	 Date of birth 

•	 Social Security number (or immigration documents) 

•	 North Carolina residency 

•	 Income information (from paystubs, W-2 forms, tax 
returns or business records) 

North Carolina uses external resources to verify the 
information you provide. If more information is needed, you 
will receive a letter in the mail from your local DSS.

What documents can be used if DSS asks for more 
information?

    COVERAGE AND COSTS

If I already have Medicaid coverage will my benefits change?

If you currently have full Medicaid coverage, nothing will 
change for you. When it is time to get ready for the renewal 
process, you should: 

•	 Update your contact information. Make sure your local 
DSS has your current mailing address, phone number, 
email or other contact information. This way, DSS will 
be able to contact you about your Medicaid coverage.

You can update your address and other information for 
Medicaid online without having to call or visit your local DSS. 
ePASS is North Carolina’s secure self-service website where 
people with Medicaid can create an enhanced account that 
allows you to apply for various benefits, view case details, 
renew Medicaid and update your contact information. More 
information on creating an enhanced ePASS account is 
available on the NC Medicaid beneficiary portal. 

•	 Check your mail. Local DSS will mail you a letter about 
your coverage. This letter will let you know if you need 
to complete a renewal form or provide additional 
information to see if you still qualify for Medicaid. 

•	 Complete the renewal form or Request for Information 
(if you get one). If you receive a renewal form, fill out 
the form and return it to your local DSS right away to 
help avoid a gap in your Medicaid coverage. 

Under the new rules, how much will people pay in monthly 
premiums and copays?

You do not have to pay any monthly premiums. Medicaid 
pays the cost for most health care services. The highest 
copay is $4 and that is only required for some services.
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North Carolina 
Residency

•	 A photo ID with your NC address listed, 
or 

•	 A utility bill, or
•	 A lease or mortgage agreement, or
•	 Vehicle registration, or
•	 Documentation of employment, or
•	 If you do not have any documentation, 

you can check a box in ePASS labeled 
“NC Residency Declaration.”

Income  •	 If you’re Employed - pay stubs, 
employer verification or your most 
recent tax return to show proof of your 
income. 

•	 If you’re Self-Employed - your most 
recent tax return or copies of your 
business records. If you don’t have that, 
you can fill out a Verification Form for 
Self-Employment Income and Expenses 
form.  

Date of Birth  •	 A photo ID with your date of birth listed, 
or

•	 Birth certificate.   

Social Security 
Number 

•	 A copy of your Social Security card, or 
•	 Another official document containing 

your name and Social Security number, 
or 

•	 A military ID card.   

Citizenship  •	 Birth Certificate, or
•	 Passport.  

Immigration 
Status  

•	 A copy of your VISA/immigration card.

https://ncgov.servicenowservices.com/sp_beneficiary?sys_id=ba3819ab1b2f59149c4c8512f54bcb19&view=sp&id=kb_article&table=kb_knowledge
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What are the differences between Medicaid expansion 
coverage and getting coverage through Standard Plan, 
Tailored Plan, Tribal Option or Medicaid Direct? Does 
anything change under these new rules?

Everyone who qualifies under the new rules will get their 
health coverage through a Standard Plan, Medicaid Direct, 
Tribal Option or through Tailored Plans in the future, 
depending upon their individual needs, just like other 
Medicaid beneficiaries. 

Can I have Medicare and receive Medicaid expansion?

No. Some people who have Medicare coverage may be 
eligible for other existing Medicaid programs. For example, 
people who are disabled and are age 64 and under may be 
eligible for Medicaid through disability coverage.

Are there other insurance options if I still do not qualify for 
Medicaid under the new rules?

Yes. You may qualify for subsidized health coverage offered 
on HealthCare.gov. Contact a North Carolina health insurance 
navigator for enrollment assistance. Community health 
centers also provide low-cost care through a sliding scale 
based on one’s income and insurance status.

Was anyone automatically enrolled in Medicaid under the 
new rules?

Yes, people already enrolled in Medicaid’s limited Family 
Planning Program who are eligible have been automatically 
moved to full Medicaid expansion benefits. Those who are 
eligible for full Medicaid benefits will: 

•	 Get a letter from your local Department of Social 
Services (DSS) letting you know you now have full 
Medicaid coverage.

•	 Be assigned a health plan. If you want to change your 
health plan, you have 90 days to pick a new one.

•	 Receive a packet from your health plan in the mail. 
It will include a new Medicaid ID card. Your ID card 
also has the name of your primary care doctor. You 
can change the doctor that was assigned to you by 
contacting your health plan.

•	 Need to cancel your plan if you have health coverage 
through HealthCare.gov. You can do that by logging 
into your HealthCare.gov account or calling 1-800-
318-2596. Do not cancel your plan until you receive 
information from your new health plan through 
Medicaid.

Not everyone with limited Family Planning Program benefits 
was automatically enrolled in full coverage through Medicaid. 
Some people may have income that exceeds the Medicaid 
eligibility levels. If your income has recently changed and you 
think you may be eligible, update your information in ePASS 
(ePASS.nc.gov) or by contacting your local DSS. Also, please 
use ePASS or contact your local DSS office to make sure 
your contact information is up to date so you do not miss 
important information about your benefits.

What is limited Family Planning Medicaid and who is 
eligible?

Family Planning Medicaid provides reproductive health care 
at no cost to people with incomes up to 195% of the federal 
poverty line – that’s about $2,370 a month for a single 
person. It covers almost all methods of birth control, testing 
and treatment for sexually transmitted infections, preventive 
services and more.

If I currently receive Family Planning benefits and am 
now enrolled in full coverage through NC Medicaid, what 
happens? 

You will get a letter from your local DSS letting you know you 
now have full Medicaid coverage. These initial letters have 
already gone out. You will then be assigned a health plan. If 
you want to change your health plan, you have 90 days to 
pick a new one. Your health plan will send you a packet in the 
mail. It will include a new Medicaid ID card. Your ID card also 
has the name of your primary care doctor. You can change 
your doctor through your health plan. Medicaid will pay for 
doctor visits, yearly check-ups, emergency care, mental 
health services and more – at little or no cost to you. 

Why won’t everyone with Family Planning Program benefits 
be automatically enrolled in full coverage through NC 
Medicaid?  

Some people may have income that exceeds the Medicaid 
eligibility levels. If your income has recently changed and you 
think you may be eligible, update your information in ePASS 
(ePASS.nc.gov) or by contacting your local Department of 
Social Services (DSS). Also, please use ePASS or contact 
your local DSS office to make sure your contact information 
is up to date so you do not miss important information about 
your benefits.

    EPASS AND MEDICAID  
    APPLICATION
What is ePASS?

ePASS is a website where people in North Carolina can apply 
for services like Medicaid. To apply for Medicaid online, visit 
ePASS.nc.gov to start an application. Read our fact sheet to 
learn more about ePASS.

What is an enhanced ePASS account?  

An enhanced ePASS account allows you to do more online so 
you don’t have to call or go in person to a local Department of 
Social Services. With an enhanced ePASS account, you can:

•	 See applications you may have submitted  
•	 Report changes (like a change in address or income) 
•	 Complete recertification paperwork (if needed) 
•	 Upload documents for your application  
•	 View notices or messages from your caseworker 
•	 View office contact details 
•	 Appeal a Medical Assistance decision
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Information can also be submitted directly to the local DSS via 
in-person delivery, US mail, fax or telephone. Email may also 
be an option at some DSS offices. 

You can watch this video to learn how to set up an enhanced 
ePASS account. More information is also available at  
medicaid.nc.gov/media/12236/download?attachment. 

What will I need to create an enhanced account? 

You will need to provide the following information:
•	 Name 
•	 Date of birth 
•	 Biological gender 
•	 Address 
•	 Social Security number

You must be 18 or older to create an enhanced account. You 
can create an enhanced ePASS account anytime. If you don’t 
have a Social Security number or a credit history, you need to 
work directly with your local Department of Social Services 
to create an enhanced ePASS account. You won’t be able to 
create it online. Authorized Representatives cannot create an 
enhanced account.

Where can I get help if I don’t speak English or need help 
communicating? 

ePASS is currently only available in English and Spanish. 
However, all local DSS offices can connect you to a language 
line to provide help in other languages. Free language 
assistance and/or other aids and services are available upon 
request. To receive free interpreter services, call 866-719-0141 
or ask at your local DSS. After the recorded message, you will 
reach an operator who can provide you with an interpreter. If 
you have a disability and need communication assistance, call 
866-719-0141 or TTY: 711.  

To view ePASS in Spanish: 

•	 Go to epass.nc.gov 

•	 Click “Español” near the upper lefthand corner  

What is NCID and why do I need it?

NCID stands for NC Identity Management. Having an NCID 
account helps protect your personal information. Anyone 
using ePASS to apply for Medicaid will need to create an 
NCID. You will be asked to create an account the first time 
you use ePASS. Instructions for creating an NCID account are 
online at https://info.ncdhhs.gov/dhsr/es/pdf/how-to-create-
NCIDAccount.pdf. 

What is a Business NCID?

A Business NCID Account is used by a person or organization 
who is authorized to apply on behalf of more than one 
applicant or household at the same time. Qualified Medical 
Provider staff are not allowed to act as an Authorized 
Representative for a Medicaid applicant.  

I am a parent applying for my child, do I need to create an 
NCID for them? 

As a parent or guardian, you may use your NCID and ePASS 
account to apply for your child. Even if you are not applying 
for yourself, list yourself on the application as the parent. 

Where do I get help with an NCID account?

If you need to reset your password or unlock your account:   

•	 Go to ncid.nc.gov.   

•	 Choose the link under the NCID login that you need:     

	» Forgot Password   

	» Unlock Account   

•	 Enter your username and follow the directions.   

If you need help, call the North Carolina Department of 
Information Technology Service Desk at 800-722-3946.

Do I need to answer all of the questions in ePASS?

No, but you should try to answer as many questions as you 
can. If the application is incomplete, it may take longer to 
process. DSS will reach out to you if they do not have what is 
needed to complete your application, so be sure to respond to 
mail or phone calls.

Do I have to complete the application in one sitting?  

No. The application saves automatically. You can also save 
your application by clicking on “Save & Exit.” When you come 
back to the application, it will take you to the section that you 
last finished.  

The application date will be the date you submit the signed 
application. This is important because you can request that 
your Medicaid coverage be retroactive for up to three months 
from the application date. So, if you apply in March and you 
are eligible, Medicaid can pay bills for covered services from 
December, January and February. Remember, coverage under 
expansion can only go back to December 2023.  

What if I do not have a physical address, mailing address or 
email address?  

•	 Physical Address: You do not need a physical address 
to apply for Medicaid. However, you must confirm you 
are physically in North Carolina and plan to live here. 
You do not need to plan to stay permanently and do not 
need to have a fixed address.   

•	 Mailing address: If you do not have a mailing address, 
enter an address where you can pick up mail or enter 
the address of your local DSS office. Find a DSS office 
near you at ncdhhs.gov/localdss.  

•	 Email address: You must have an email address to make 
an NCID and use ePASS. If you don’t have an email 
address, you may apply at your local DSS office, by 
phone or by paper application.  

Do I have to provide my Social Security number (SSN)?  

No. You can apply without providing your SSN. If you have one 
and do not include it on your application, your local DSS will 
call you to ask for it. Including your SSN on your application 
will avoid delays in processing. 

If you have applied for a SSN, you can provide documents that 
show you have applied.  
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Who do I need to list on my application? 

On the “Getting Started” page, you will be asked to list 
household information. Make sure you include: 

•	 You 

•	 Your spouse (if you are legally married)

•	 Your children or anyone under the age of 21 in your 
home that you take care of and claim on your taxes 

•	 Anyone else you claim on your tax return (dependents)  

How should I enter first/last names for me or others who 
use a hyphenated first/last name?  

Do not use spaces or hyphens when entering names. For 
example, “Smith-Jones” should be entered as “SmithJones.”

What is an “Authorized Representative?”  

An Authorized Representative is an individual who is legally 
authorized or designated in writing by the person applying 
to act on their behalf. Only an Authorized Representative can 
complete a Medicaid application for someone else.  

Do I have to be an “Authorized Representative” to help 
someone with their Medicaid application? 

No. While you must be an Authorized Representative to 
complete a Medicaid application for someone else, anyone can 
give help with the application process. For example, anyone 
can help someone with using a computer, understanding how 
to create an NCID, or show someone how to navigate ePASS. 
People giving help in this manner should not collect any 
personal identifiable information.

What does an Authorized Representative need to do to 
help someone apply? 

If you are an Authorized Representative, you will need to 
create an NCID. You will use the NCID to complete the 
application for the person you represent and to check the 
status of their application. If you are applying for one person/
family, you can create an individual NCID for yourself. If you 
are applying for multiple people/families, you will need to 
create a Business NCID.

If you are applying on behalf of someone else, you need to 
provide one of the following items: 

•	 a Designation of Authorized Representative form 

•	 a voice signature designation (your local Department of 
Social Services can assist with this) 

•	 a copy of a Power of Attorney 

Guidelines for applying on behalf of someone else can be 
found here: epass.nc.gov/nfLearnMore.

......EXPANSION BENEFITS
How is North Carolina providing health coverage for more 
people through NC Medicaid?

Federal law allows states to expand who can get health 
coverage through Medicaid, known as Medicaid expansion. 
Since 2014, 40 states and Washington, DC have expanded 
Medicaid.

Why is expanding Medicaid good for my community?

Research shows that expanding Medicaid coverage increases 
access to health care, improves health outcomes, creates jobs 
and strengthens the economy. It means that people with low 
incomes can work, earn more and keep themselves healthy. 
Expansion is also good for the state. Other states that have 
expanded Medicaid have increased state revenues, created 
jobs and saved state funding. It has also helped prevent rural 
hospitals from closing. Most people who qualify for Medicaid 
under these new rules are working adults in important service 
industries across the state. Keeping them healthy keeps them 
on the job.

Will North Carolinians who already have insurance benefit 
from expansion?

Everyone benefits when more people have access to 
affordable health care and can live healthier lives. Taxpayers 
will also benefit because federal funds will help the state cover 
more people, keep our health systems strong and reduce the 
cost of care. 

Does expansion help improve access to mental health 
services or substance abuse treatment?

Yes. In states that have expanded Medicaid, suicide rates 
decreased and access to substance use disorder treatment 
increased. About two million North Carolinians will experience 
a mental illness and substance use disorder. In 2019, more 
than 55% of people who needed treatment did not receive 
it because of cost. Untreated mental illness can lead to 
homelessness, involvement in the justice system and trauma 
to children.

How can workers without health insurance benefit from 
these new rules from expanding access to Medicaid?

Many hard-working people can finally afford to take care of 
their health while providing for their families. Most of those 
who don’t have insurance are working people with low 
incomes in important service industries and small businesses. 
By raising income limits so more people are eligible for 
Medicaid, more people can work without losing their health 
care coverage. Medicaid expansion also helps more people 
with disabilities enter the workforce because without it, many 
people with disabilities must live in poverty to maintain their 
Medicaid eligibility. Medicaid expansion can build a healthier 
workforce for businesses like child care, restaurants and the 
service industry by helping more employees have access to 
affordable health insurance. 
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